ABSENTEE/EARLY VOTING HOURS for each upcoming election can be found on the ‘NEWS – Meetings & Notices’ page of our website.
Voter Registration Information
You are qualified to register to vote in Ohio if you meet all the following requirements:
- You are a citizen of the United States.
- You will be at least 18 years old on or before the next general election.
- You will be a resident of Ohio for at least 30 days immediately before the election in which you want to vote.
- You are not incarcerated (in jail or prison) for a felony conviction under the laws of Ohio, another state or the United States.
- You have not been declared incompetent for voting purposes by a probate court.
- You have not been permanently denied the right to vote for violations of the election laws.
You are eligible to vote in elections in your voting precinct held at least 30 days after you are registered to vote in Ohio.
Submitting Your Voter Registration Form
You may register online at www.VoteOhio.gov, or return your completed voter registration form in person or by U.S. Mail to any of the following public offices:
- Any county board of elections
- The Ohio Secretary of State’s office
- BMV or Deputy Registrars
- Office of designated agencies, including Department of Job & Family Services, Department of Health (including the Women, Infants and Children (WIC) program), Department of Mental Health, Department of Developmental Disabilities, and Rehabilitation Services Commission
- Any state-assisted college or university that provides assistance to disabled students
- Any county treasurer’s office
- Any public high school or vocational school
- Any public library
If you are updating your current Ohio voter registration and returning your completed change of name and/or address form by U.S. Mail, you must send it to your county board of elections or the Secretary of State’s Office. If you already registered within the state of Ohio and need to update your address, you may also update online at www.VoteOhio.gov.
Your properly completed voter registration form must be postmarked or received by the 30th day before the election in which you wish to vote. If the voter registration deadline falls on a day when offices of the Secretary of State and county board of elections are closed, the deadline is extended to the succeeding business day when the office is open.
Notice to All Voters
Voters must bring identification to the polls in order to verify identity. Acceptable forms of identification:
- Valid/not expired Ohio driver’s license or Ohio state ID
- Other ID issued by Ohio or federal government
- Valid or INDEF (Retiree) Military ID (only acceptable ID without address – no expiration date) (spouses may also carry)
- Other ‘proper ID’ – original or copy (with voter’s name/current address) of a current utility bill, fishing license, hunting license, car registration (with address), bank statement, paycheck, government check, concealed carry card, government issued letters, tax bills, licenses, notices, court papers, grades/transcripts
Voters who do not provide one of the documents above will be able to cast a provisional ballot (R.C. 3505.181) by providing the last four digits of their Social Security number.
Unacceptable forms of ID:
- Driver’s license/photo ID issued by another state (not Ohio)
- Social security card
- Birth certificate (unless has current address)
- Insurance card
- Registration acknowledgement from Board of Elections
These forms are unacceptable because they do not have an address; and if they do have an address, it’s usually not current.
WHOEVER COMMITS ELECTION FALSIFICATION IS GUILTY OF A FELONY OF THE FIFTH DEGREE.
No person shall:
- Knowingly aid or abet any person to register in violation of law:
5th degree felony; R.C. 3599.11(A).
- Knowingly destroy, or help to destroy, any completed voter registration form: 5th degree felony; R.C. 3599.11(B)(1).
- Knowingly fail to timely return any voter registration form entrusted to him/her to board of elections or Secretary of State:
5th degree felony/1st degree misdemeanor; R.C. 3599.11(B)(2).
Under Ohio law, a 5th degree felony conviction may result in a prison sentence of six to 12 months and/or a fine of up to $2500. A 1st degree misdemeanor conviction may result in up to six months in jail and/or a fine of up to $1000.
For more information about registering and voting in Ohio, please access online information at www.OhioSecretaryofState.gov , or call toll-free (877) SOS-OHIO (767-6446).
Does a POWER OF ATTORNEY work for voting with the Board of Elections? While a power of attorney works in most circumstances, it will not work at the Board of Elections. If a voter wishes to assign someone as their power of attorney specifically for voting, Form #10-F must be filed with the Board of Elections in the county where the voter is registered to vote. Form #10-F is “Attorney-in-Fact Authorization Executed Before a Notary Public” and declares that the designated power of attorney is allowed to sign voter-related paperwork (i.e., petitions, ballots) for the voter who is unable to do so for him or herself. Form #10-F can be printed off here or obtained at our local Board of Elections office. The form must be notarized (notary available at Board of Elections office) and will be kept on file for all future elections until further notification.